All Posts, Cafes, Downtown

Bridgehead: Sweetener is a plus!

Image

My first excursion involved walking over from campus to Bank and Albert St. yesterday afternoon with my friend Sherry. It was a beautiful walk: cool breeze, warm sun, jackets slung over our shoulders, laughing at the silly things our minds came up with… basically, we were happy Winter seemed to be over. I say seemed because we are in Ottawa after all, you never know when Mother Nature might turn Spring showers into Spring blizzards.

Our goal for the afternoon was to grab coffee at Bridgehead. I’d been only once before and was looking forward to their hazelnut latte. However, for reasons still unknown to us, we each chose to purchase a tall glass of iced tea. Like I said, going in for coffee, coming out with iced teas = illogical. After paying $2.05 for our drinks, the friendly cashier who recommended them let us know their iced tea was not sweetened.

At this point, dread formed a small knot in the pit of my stomach. I remembered a trip I made long ago to Rochester, New York for a basketball tournament. I had ordered iced tea at the restaurant forgetting Americans did not sweeten their iced tea like us Canadians do. Suffice to say the result was less than desirable; no amount of Splenda could remedy my poor choice of beverage.

In summary:

ImageSherry really did not like the unsweetend version of our summer beverage. We attempted to sweeten it with brown sugar, however no amount of stirring could dissolve the grains. Attempt #2: honey. It worked more or less, even with the honey coagulating at the bottom of the glass.

“How is it now?” I asked.

“Better, I can actually drink it now”, Sherry replied with a smile.

“You get used to the taste,” I announced confidently. “It doesn’t even taste bad anymore, for me.”

“That’s because it probably ruined your taste buds,” she said. And she was probably right.

The cafe itself was a welcoming place, appearing much larger inside than when looking in from the outside. Large windows facing Bank and Albert St. let in tons of natural light. The tables were on the small side, generally made for two. One seat was equipped with a red cushion and was booth-like, while the other was either a stiff wooden chair or a simple metal stool. I took the stool so Sherry would be more comfortable in the booth-like seat, and it was a mission to keep my back straight without the added support of a back rest. I couldn’t help but think a cafe with prices similar to those of Second Cup and Starbucks should not have such uncomfortable seating for its patrons.

Despite this, it is a great place to come study, hang out with friends, meet with professors or colleagues, and escape the hustle bustle of a typical school/work day. The music is not very loud, patrons tend to keep voices at a neutral level, and the cream-coloured latte mugs give the atmosphere a homey feel. Sherry, thankfully, agrees.

Image

Another aspect I enjoyed was the container of clean spoons the cafe had at what I call their “beverage personalization counter” (you know, where you can add milk, cream, soy milk, sugar, Splenda, honey, chocolate, etc.). 1) It so much easier to measure how much sugar you are putting in your drink with a spoon, and 2) Stirring is marvelously simple with a spoon; those skinny sticks barely make a wave! Lastly, the tables and counters were all clean and tidy, which is definitely a plus in the public health safety department.

All in all, the Bridgehead located on Bank and Albert St. is assuredly a go-to place for more those preferring a quiet, less energetic atmosphere. Did you have a different experience? Feel free to let other readers know by leaving a comment.

Hope the gray skies aren’t ruining your day! I’m off to watch Fast and Furious with a nice cup of green tea.

Happy Sunday!

-El

9 thoughts on “Bridgehead: Sweetener is a plus!”

  1. Love Bridgehead! I think you should check out… darn I can’t remember the name of it. It is a little coffee shop across from the Metro in Westboro/Hintonburg – at the corner of Carleton Ave. and Wellington West. I went there the other day for the first time and loved it. 🙂

  2. Eleni!! You Should try Bluebird coffee on Dalhousie, it’s so yummy and cozy, you’ll love it. Great blog, LOVE the concept 🙂

  3. Ha, nice try at improvisation. I love iced tea (the sweetened kind) and it is tough to get it up here since I moved to the Northeastern US awhile back. I do drink my fill though when I am down south.

    1. Yeah, our attempts didn’t work too well- can’t beat the real thing! Man, if I had to move to the States I’d have crates of the drink stored in my basement!

Have a cafe you'd like me to check out? Or personal experiences to share?